Boston Supermegafest 2008

November 12, 2008

shirtwebBoston’s Supermegafest is coming up soon and RBM will be there in full affectionate effect. The guest list this year is pretty insane: Richard Dreyfus, Linda Blair, Pete Best, Peter Tork, Garrick Hagen (Biggs Darklighter, Richard Kiel (Jaws from James Bond), Jimmy Hart, an unnecessary amount of WWE “Divas,” and about 50 others. RBM‘s own Oh, Mars (who gets off on writing in third person) will be competing in the Star Wars Trivia Competition on Saturday afternoon; flexing his well-defined nerd muscles. Then it’s off to the bahs, kid.

If any of our readers are going to attend, let us know and we can hold hands or something.


Anthony Kiedis is Literally the Greatest Living Songwriter.

November 12, 2008

Hellboy: In Service of the Demon

November 12, 2008

hell61

Hellboy II: The Golden Army came out on DVD yesterday and I picked up the 3-Disk Special Edition (with Mignolia artwork hologram thingy on the front). The second disc has a behind the scenes featurette titled Hellboy: In Service of the Demon and I honestly believe it’s one of the most enjoyable bonus features I’ve ever seen. Not to mention extensive as all hell (running time is just over two and a half hours). Getting to see how they put together the Johann suit, watching the actor inside the latex Wink costume gear up, Del Toro giving his design team a pep talk (“we want to avoid Men in Black“), it’s all in here. Watching good old-fashioned creature design rather than people hunched over a computer screen is pretty awesome and rare nowadays. There’s also an easter egg on the first disc: when your cursor is over the first selection, press over to the right and you can access a blooper reel; something every DVD should have.

Side Note: Before I watched this I popped in The Clone Wars, which also came out yesterday. It wasn’t as awful as I was expecting, but I did doze off about four times.



Retsop Nottub Nimajneb Tsrif

November 12, 2008

bb_poster

I don’t care if it’s Keira Knightley or Vince Vaughan, close-ups of faces make me sick. Same goes to you, Brad Pitt. But the concept is pretty awesome and follows with the whole backwards schtick from the movie. The type is backwards, besides the release date of “Christmas Day” at the bottom. In the movie, Pitt is born a geriatric and ages backwards. A living hell on par with being an immortal a la Highlander. We’ve seen what the young/elderly Pitt will look like in the movie (see below), I’m wondering if he is going to have a newborn’s face when he’s on his death bed. If that’s the case, I may never sleep again after seeing it.

benjaminbutton-poster


Simple Economics

November 12, 2008

rbmjet

from our correspondent Joe Provost:

When the good folks at RobotBitesMan approached me about writing a feature for their site the first thing I asked was,

“How much does it pay?”

Lets just say that the response I received was what we in the industry call a “low ball.” I countered with a figure I felt represented justifiable compensation considering I was fully capable of stringing together four words of four syllables or more (if you don’t believe me, take a closer look at what you just read) and after some haggling a compromise was reached. I was told my check was in the mail and that I could use the company jet to fly anywhere on the East Coast, round trip.
With the agreement settled I diligently sat myself down at the trusty laptop, lit my corncob writing-pipe, ran a google search for “East Coast hot spots” and waited for the check to arrive.

Read the rest of this entry »


Monopoly Movie Makes The Parker Bros. Vomit In Their Graves

November 12, 2008

monopolyman

Ridley Scott has chosen the race car, and is headed for “Boardwalk”. Hollywoodreporter.com has announced that Scott will be directing a movie based on the hit Parker Bros game Monopoly. Follow the jump to learn more. Read the rest of this entry »


Jen Aniston Says “Oh No You Di’in’t”

November 12, 2008

ja-15

Angelina Jolie has been running her ridiculously over sized lips, and Jennifer Aniston is ready to sew them shut.  After Angelina blabbed to Vogue magazine last year about how Brad and her “hooked up” on the set of Mr. & Mrs. Smith, the lovely lady Aniston has decided to break her silence.  She spoke to Vogue, and People.com has the scoop.  Hit the jump for all the juicy stuff.  Read the rest of this entry »


New “Star Trek” Posters Thirst For Life

November 12, 2008

Kirk and Spock are hungry, and your brains smell rich ‘n spicy.

star-trek-poster-kirk

Read the rest of this entry »