Larry Charles Shoots Pilot With Kanye West — “I’m the Black Larry David”

And I’m the White Danny Glover. Shades enthusiast and director Larry Charles (Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Religulous) recently shot a pilot with Kanye West, self-proclaimed “Black Larry David.” Awesome? Yes, awesome. From ComingSoon.net:

He also told us that he already shot a pilot for the currently untitled Kanye West project that the rapper was doing for Larry Charles’ regular home HBO, and he told us a little more about what that is, since there’ve been many rumors about it being a sitcom or reality TV. In fact, it’s neither, as Charles informed us. “What Kanye West said to me the first time, he said, ‘I’m the black Larry David.’ That’s the first thing he said to me. So it’s like a Kanye and ‘Curb’ show, it’s kind of improvised about the situations and stuff. It was really good, but again I think it was too hardcore for HBO. Also, HBO’s management shifted, but HBO doesn’t have a good track record when it comes to black shows and I felt like that may have had something to do with it also. I don’t see a lot of shows about that experience at all.

If this show does get going they need to get Larry David to do an episode with Kanye. Can you imagine Larry interacting with Kanye? Comic gold.

Leave a comment