Crips & Bloods: Made in America; Coming to Coolidge Corner, Boston

March 29, 2009

The documentary Crips and Bloods: Made in America will be screening at the Coolidge Corner Theater in Boston from April 24 – 30. Gangs, subculutures, and social history are the reason I have a useless degree, so I’ve been looking forward to this since I heard about it last year. There will be a RBM class trip to Brookline on the 24th. Then we will all be returning to our homes and sucking our thumbs.


Oh Mars x Monsters vs. Aliens; Happy Birthday Will!

March 29, 2009

rbm

Thanks to my super-human body, I’m wide awake every Saturday at about 9:00 am. This, amazingly, occurs every weekend despite whatever abuse I inflict on my constitution the night before. While the rest of my friends, who God gave normal bodies to, are sleeping off their lifestyles, I usually catch up on TV shows, reading, or movies. Today I watched the last Friday Night Lights and was looking forward to bombing through season 2 of The Shield but the Sun was just too enticing; creeping through the blinds and taunting me. So I decided to put pants on and head to the local theater for a matinee of Monsters vs. Aliens.

The movie was pretty good. Like most contemporary animated movies, the biggest laughs came from the cleverly disguised bits of adult humor referencing oral sex and tits. What I really want to write about is how much of a fucking pedophile I came off as. I dunno how I didn’t see it coming. 12:00 show. A PG movie. 70 kids in between the ages of two and 13. Their parents. And ME…me with my beard, Clark Rockefeller glasses, and penchant for incessant staring. There was even a birthday party in the house; Will was turning six! All I needed was a burlap sack slung over my shoulder and I’d be in a cell right now. I kept to myself for 94 minutes (except when I helped a beautiful young woman retrieve the pacifier that she dropped on the floor – call me!) and am looking forward to the next toddler fashion show at Salem Cinema.


Shutter Island Promo

March 29, 2009

shutterislandposter

Here’s a promo published in a Berliner Zeitung newspaper for the new Scorsese film Shutter Island. Based on the book by the same name by Boston’s own Dennis Lehane, the film stars Leo, Mark Ruffalo, and Ben Kingsley. The official synopsis:

Shutter Island tells the story of a U.S marshell Teddy Daniels (Leo), and his Partner Chuck Aule (Ruffalo) and their search for an escaped patient of the Shutter Island mental institution run by Dr. Cawley (Kingsley) and the Warden. Through his search Teddy finds hidden secrets about the Island, the patients, his partner, and even himself. Remember Things aren’t always what they seem to be…

Despite the shittiness of this print advertisment (which I honestly think is a fake), I’m very excited for this movie. I’m a huge Lehane fan and I ferociously read Shutter Island while I was home for Christmas last year. Like very other Lehane novel, I could not put it the fuck down. The majority of my word consumption consists of sci-fi and crime, and as far as the crime sector goes, Lehane is the modern day Chandler. Honestly, not to be blasphemous, Lehane may be better than Chandler. So far, Hollywood is two for two with nailing adaptations of Lehane’s work (Mystic River and Gone Baby Gone), and that statistic coupled with Marty at the helm instills mucho excitement in the loins of Mars. The movie is scheduled for release on October 2, 2009 and I recommend reading the source material beforehand. You know, so you can bitch about how shitty the movie was and know what you’re talking about. Nooch.

shutterisland