Volstagg: The Not-Quite-Voluminous

“DAMN THEE, DIET!”

There is much excitement in the nerd community surrounding the new THOR movie that’s due out soon.  As awesome as the trailer is, a “small” problem has been brought to my attention.  Turns out the portly powerhouse Volstagg has been poorly cast.  I know, I know.  How hard could it be to cast a large and in-charge warrior from the halls of Asgard?  Harder than you’d think, apparently.

Actor Ray Stevenson (from such stuff as ROME, King Arthur, and Punisher: War Zone) will be brandishing the bad-ass beard of our favorite “muscle”-man from The Warriors 3, though I think he should’ve downed copious amounts of deep-fried cheeseburgers before filming began.

“I’m saving that for later, mortal!”

It’s hard to tell, but that’s Volstagg on the far left

“When do we eat?!”

As long as Stevenson delivers HUGE personality, I’ll be happy.  His work has been quite awesome up ’till now, and it would be a shame if he nose-dives trying to play a fat guy that isn’t fat even though he’s suppose to be fat.

2 Responses to Volstagg: The Not-Quite-Voluminous

  1. […] My views on the Warriors Three shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone.  When I found out that Volstagg wasn’t going to be a tub of goo, I lost it.  But once again I was wrong.  Even though he was half the size he should’ve been, Volstagg was great.  The dude playing Fandral couldn’t have done a better job.  Though seeing an Asian as Hogun kind of bothered me.  I have no qwams with Asians, mind you, it’s just seeing and Asian dude play a Norse god is rather weird.  So was seeing a black dude as Heimdall (the guy who watches over Bifrost ((the rainbow bridge))).  These guys are suppose to be NORSE GODS!  Last time I checked there weren’t many black/asian guys in their pantheon. […]

  2. […] My views on the Warriors Three shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone.  When I found out that Volstagg wasn’t going to be a tub of goo, I lost it.  But once again I was wrong.  Even though he was half the size he should’ve been, Volstagg was great.  The dude playing Fandral couldn’t have done a better job.  Though seeing an Asian as Hogun kind of bothered me.  I have no qwams with Asians, mind you, it’s just seeing and Asian dude play a Norse god is rather weird.  So was seeing a black dude as Heimdall (the guy who watches over Bifrost ((the rainbow bridge))).  These guys are suppose to be NORSE GODS!  Last time I checked there weren’t many black/asian guys in their pantheon. […]

Leave a Reply

