Adventures in TV Land: Forgotten Kids Shows

“Hey… what was that show called?  The one with the thing… and that other thing?”

We’ve all had that moment.  Ya know, the one when you remember a certain TV show from when you were a kid but no one else can figure out what the hell you’re talking about based on the wacky description and an off-key humming of the theme music.  I mean, if I said Will Smith rapping in brightly colored clothes that look like a clown threw up on him, you’d immediately think “Fresh Prince“… but if I said “Some people dressed as animals dancing and singing and partying…”  you’d probably think of Furries, right?  Based on that description, it sounds like something we all tried to block out after our childhood, that’s probably why we don’t remember that particular show.  Today’s your lucky day, though, because it’s all about remember those shows that you forgot about.

Recently, I spent some time trying to remember a specific show that I only remembered a very small tid-bit of.  All I could remember was that there were some people dressed as animals dancing around and singing and it kind of reminded me of the Broadway show “Cats”.  I spent several weeks rocking my brain trying to remind myself what the heck that show was, until it just randomly came to me one day while I was at work.  The show was called Zoobilee Zoo.  It was pretty weird, and is definitely the stuff Furries are made of, but I was so excited when I figured it out.  Even after that it was pretty tough trying to find other people who knew of this zany show.  Zoobilee Zoo, which apparently won a couple of Emmy’s  (I know, I’m just as surprised as you…), only aired 65 episodes between 1986 and 1987, but it was syndicated for almost 15 years… amazing, I know!

Anyway, discovering what that show was that had been driving me crazy trying to figure out the title inspired me to remember other great shows from my youth, which you will see below.  In forewarning, I decided to keep it narrowed down to live action and puppet shows, because adding all of the cartoons I wanted to add would’ve taken another 1,000 words, so I will save that for part 2.  So if you don’t see a particular show from your childhood below, don’t despair, I’m sure I’ll get it in one of my future posts!

Another show that I had a distant memory of was “Adventures in Wonderland“.  This was one that I had completely and utterly forgotten about up until a friend brought it up and even after I said I had no idea what he was talking about, he insisted I watch the opening on YouTube where I was astonished to discover that I did remember the show, and I even remember lines from the opening tune!!!  Adventures in Wonderland was a live action series based on Disney’s Alice in Wonderland (obviously).  The show ran from 1991-1995 on the Disney channel.

While we are on the subject of “fantasy”, I’d like to bring up another great show from my youth:  Eureeka’s Castle, which ran from 1989-1995 on Nickelodeon. Eureek’as Castle wasn’t in the same style of Sesame Street or Fraggle Rock because it consisted mostly of puppets.  My favorite character was Magellan, the dragon who couldn’t seem to keep control of his tail.

Now for a personal favorite of mine…  “Shining Time Station“!  This show was great for one reason and one reason only.  It had GEORGE FREAKIN’ CARLIN!  That’s right George Carlin was Mr. Conductor on this gem.  Okay, I lied, there’s a second reason for this shows greatness, and that is the fact that Didi Con aka “Pinky” from Grease I & II was also on this show for some time.  Either way, Carlin was certainly the best thing about “Shining Time Station“.  This show has reinvented itself several times over, and Thomas the Train is still extremely popular to this very day.  That last sentence made me feel very very old.

“Skin-a-ma-rinky-dinky-dink… Skin-a-ma-rinky-doo!  I LOVE YOU…”  I hope some of you remember that this was the theme from “The Elephant Show“.  This fabulous show had not 1, not 2, but 3 hosts!  Sharon, Lois and Bram!  While this series ended more than once, it was actually repeatedly picked up again, shortly after being canceled which allowed it to officially run for an amazing 10 year span!  While this show is a little more well-known because of the length of its run, I still consider it a “Forgotten Kids Show” because people tend to forget everything except for the theme song!

My last and final entry into Part 1 of “Forgotten Kids Shows” is another one that people can remember the closing theme for, but not the premise of the show.  It is none other than “Lamb Chops Play Along“!  This show is most remembered for the so-called “Song That Doesn’t End” that finished each episode.  Sadly, the show “ended” in 1997 after 5 years.  It aired on PBS and was created by Shari Lewis, who was a popular puppeteer at that time.  I will spare you all the pain of the “Song That Doesn’t End” and leave you with the intro theme to this show.

Keep watching for my next entry of “Adventures in TV Land” here on RBM!

2 Responses to Adventures in TV Land: Forgotten Kids Shows

  1. Shaundra says:

    I have been trying to remember Zoobilee Zoo for years, but no one knew what I was talking about! Some of my friends even thought it was something I dreamt!

  2. AmbularNubular says:

    Haha! YES! I had the same problem, until I finally found it online and was able to prove the existence of Zoobilee Zoo!

Leave a Reply

