Gene Hackman, ‘Sup

gene_hackman

I miss Gene Hackman. He’s starred in some of my favorite movies of all time – French Connection I & II, The Conversation, Unforgiven –  and one year ago, in an interview with Larry King, he officially announced his retirement:

“I guess you could call it retired. I haven’t worked for four years now. And I don’t miss the business. I miss the process of being on-set with actors when things get cooking. But there’s so much crapola (crap) in order to get there. It’s just too painful.”

His last movie was 2004’s Welcome to Mooseport. That’s basically on par with Raul Julia’s final role. Since gracefully bowing out he’s released two novels with undersea archaeologist Daniel Lenihan and lives with his wife of 30 years in New Mexico. RBM salutes you.

The “cold turkey” scene from French Connection II which seriously made my jaw drop the first time I saw it.

The infamous Room 773 scene from The Conversation:

One Response to Gene Hackman, ‘Sup

  1. probot8 says:

    So good in French Connection. I am also a big fan of his work in the Unforgiven and Royal Tenenbaums.

Leave a Reply

