Heavy Metal Monday 1/26/09

Rise and shine all you Week-end Warriors! Empty the puke pail, rub out the dried up eye boogers, and crack open those blood-shot eyes! If you’re having any trouble, I’m sure Mr. Blackie Lawless would be more than happy to lend a metal clad hand.

W.A.S.P. – “I Wanna Be Somebody”

If this video couldn’t blast away your hangover, and make you wanna punch a dork in the face, than you have a serious problem.

Every time I see this video it takes me back to when I was a young, naive, newly formed metal-head, fresh out of high school. Back then, I was safely treading the Earth in my Metallica induced stupor, and suddenly (and without warning) W.A.S.P. came on the radio. Have you ever walked outside on a rather frigid morning, and had the air pounded from your lungs? That’s what happened to me when I Wanna Be Somebody crashed into my brain. The shrill vocals of Blackie Lawless, the unique guitar sound of Chris Holmes, and the driving insanity of drummer Tony Richards sent my hair flying so far back that it hit some slut in the face four cars back. You have to understand, at that time I thought Lars from Metallica was a great drummer, so you can see why I was so blown away.

Today, all must pay tribute to rock god Blackie Lawless. Find some raw meat, track down a prick that deserves to be knocked down a few pegs, and hum that slimy chunk of dead animal right at his/her face. Drive away yelling “I F*CK LIKE A BEAST!” as loud as your unholy lungs will allow, and know that you’re in for one hell of a week.

Rock on, and may your swords be wet, like a young girl in her prime. \m/

Leave a Reply

