Cartoon Network — You Done Done It

September 10, 2008

Cartoon Network released this trailer for the upcoming Clone Wars television show (Oct. 3). Now, maybe it’s just clever editing over at Turner, maybe it’s the use of John William’s original music, maybe it’s the lack of that metro-sexual Hut Ziro, but fuck, this actually looks borderline decent. Left me feeling good enough that I may actually tune in.

Review of The Wrestler

September 10, 2008

Aint It Cool has posted a review of Darren Aronofsky’s low-budget character study The Wrestler, starring Mickey Rourke as The Ram. The movie took the main prize at the Venice Film Festival and I believe (correct me if I’m wrong) did the same at the Toronto International. I’m really looking forward to this; I have a boner for Rourke (Motorcycle Boy Reigns!) and for the new Springsteen song at the end of the movie.


James Hetfield For Armani

September 10, 2008

My silence was shattered, I had to post this bitch.


Taking a Mental Health Day

September 10, 2008

If being a life long fan of science fiction has taught me anything, it’s “fuck science, it’s going to kill us.” (See: 2001, The Nine Billion Names of God by Asimov, Frankenstein, Event Horizon, Jurassic Park, Pre-2-3-74 Philip K. Dick). Getting ready for work in the morning and seeing animations of the Earth getting swallowed by a man-made “Doomsday Machine” is wack. I pray the shit’s not going to work and the Earth will continue on and on. But that means $10 billion that could have gone towards cancer research got flushed down the drain; again, wack. The level of bum-out I’m feeling today is oppressive, so I’m taking the day off from posts. So unless Nolan signs on for another Batman, I’ll be silent. See you tomorrow for the Suckadelic interview.

The Luddites had the right idea.


Kiss Your Ass Goodbye

September 10, 2008